50th Hogan Cup Begins Saturday at Riverside Golf & Country Club | Oregon Golf Association

50th Hogan Cup Begins Saturday at Riverside Golf & Country Club

PORTLAND, Ore. – Forty-eight of the most talented junior golfers from the Western United States and Canada are gathering for the 50th playing of the Eddie Hogan Cup Team Matches, taking place August 11-12, 2018 at Riverside Golf & Country Club in Portland, Ore.

The Hogan Cup 36-hole team matches – held annually at Riverside G&CC – feature four-person teams of junior golfers from eight states and British Columbia, with a total of 12 teams competing. In the team format, the three lowest scores each day determine the team total. Medals are awarded to the top three teams and individuals.

In 2017, the team from Southern California blitzed the rest of the field, winning its first Hogan Cup since 2010. Ashwin Arasu earned the Individual Title, and now plays at Stanford University.

In the competition’s history, teams from Northern and Southern California have been dominant. They’ve won 29 Hogan Cup titles between the two, with Southern California winning last year. The last time Northern California won was in 2014. Justin Suh, rising senior at the University of Southern California and currently the No. 2 ranked amateur men’s golfer in the world, won the Individual Title that year.

This year’s competition includes eight returning players from last year’s event, including four Oregon golfers. As the host association, Oregon annually has two teams participate in the Hogan Cup. The 2018 Oregon teams are:

Nate Stember (Portland, Ore.) *
Johnny Ward (Lake Oswego, Ore.) *
Isaac Buerger (Redmond, Ore.) *
Mateo Fuenmayor (Beaverton, Ore.)

Brody Marconi (Portland, Ore.)
Owen Huntington (Camas, Wash.)
Austin Carnese (Portland, Ore.) *
Tyler Vassar (The Dalles, Ore.)

*indicates player competed in 2017 Hogan Cup

The event began in 1969 in commemoration of the vast achievements and contributions to the sport by Eddie Hogan, Riverside's long-time head golf professional who served the club from 1939 until his tragic drowning death in 1968. Hogan, an Oregon Amateur champion and PNGA Amateur champion, was credited for transforming the role of the golf professional, developing what is now considered the standard for the green grass pro shop. Hogan was also dedicated in helping the Oregon Golf Association develop its widely-recognized junior golf program.

Hogan Cup alumni include tour players such as Tiger Woods, Rickie Fowler, Fred Couples, Bryson DeChambeau, Casey Martin, Peter Jacobsen, Beau Hossler, Jeff Quinney, Patrick Cantlay, Bobby Clampett, Lennie Clements, Scott Simpson, Robert Gamez, Bill Sanders, Kirk Triplett, John Fought and Jason Gore.

Oregon Golf Course Superintendent's Association
First Tee of Greater Portland
Oregon Chapter PGA