Moody, Ly Take Titles at 2020 Oregon Junior Amateur | Oregon Golf Association

Moody, Ly Take Titles at 2020 Oregon Junior Amateur

Graham Moody and Kyra Ly were winners of the top boys and girls divisions at the 90th Bob Norquist Oregon Junior Amateur Championship played June 29-July 3 at OGA Golf Course in Woodburn.

Oregon Junior Amateur (June 29-July 3):

Moody, from Vancouver, Wash., took the Boys Open 14-18 Division with a 3&2 win over Springfield’s Nicholas Watts on Friday. After leveling the match at Hole No. 5, Moody would go on to win three of the next eight holes to wrap up the match on Hole No. 16.

Moody topped Brody Marconi in the semifinal round, 4&2. Marconi knocked off No. 2 Brandon Eyre in the third round on Thursday. Hodgkinson also won 4&3, his coming over Nicholas Watts in the other semifinal.

Ly, from Portland, won the top girls division after posting a 4&3 victory over Hannah Lim of Happy Valley in Friday's final day of play. Ly jumped out to a 3 up lead after five holes and never looked back. She finished the championship match with a birdie on Hole No. 15.

Sofia Fuenmayor and Emily Song each advanced to the semifinal round of the Girls Open 12-18 Division’s Championship Flight. Fuenmayor fell to top-seed Lim, 2&1, while Song lost to eventual champion Ly in the other semi.

The 2020 Oregon Junior Amateur featured two rounds of stroke play qualifying which seeded the match play bracket. The championship flights of the top boys and girls divisions included 32 players. Collin Hodgkinson (Boys Open 14-18) and Hannah Lim (Girls Open 12-18) were the individual medalists during the stroke play qualifying.

There were 15 different match play flights played over the final three days of competition. A complete listing of winners is included below.

  • Boys Open 14-18 (Championship Flight):  Graham Moody – Vancouver
  • Boys Open 14-18 (1st Flight):  Carson Kawasoe – Seaside
  • Boys Open 14-18 (2nd Flight):  Truman Gregory – Lake Oswego
  • Girls Open 12-18 (Championship Flight):  Kyra Ly – Portland
  • Girls Open 12-18 (1st Flight):  Bayler Brundage – West Linn
  • Boys 14-18 (Championship Flight):  Kamaljit Singh – Portland
  • Boys 14-18 (1st Flight):  Ennis McKendrick – Lake Oswego
  • Boys 14-18 (2nd Flight):  Shane Lee - Portland
  • Girls 12-18 (Championship Flight):  Jacinda Lee – Camas
  • Girls 12-18 (1st Flight):  Cassie Kennon – Bandon
  • Girls 12-18 (2nd Flight):  Esha Reddy – Eugene
  • Intermediate Boys 12-13 (Championship Flight):  Carson Kraus – Grants Pass
  • Intermediate Boys 12-13 (1st Flight):  Ryan Klampe – Florence
  • Intermediate Boys 12-13 (2nd Flight): Luke Greller – Newberg
  • PW Boys 8-11 (Championship Flight): Cash Tompoles – Portland
Published / Last Updated On: