Ly Repeats, Lee Wins First Crown at Oregon Junior Amateur | Oregon Golf Association

Ly Repeats, Lee Wins First Crown at Oregon Junior Amateur

Kyra Ly and Elliot Lee won their respective open divisions at the 91st Bob Norquist Oregon Junior Amateur held June 28-July 2 at Buffalo Peak Golf Course in Union.

Ly, who won the event a year ago at OGA Golf Course in Woodburn, is the first player since Gigi Stoll (2013, 2014) to win back-to-back Oregon Junior Am titles.

Oregon Junior Am (June 28-July 2):

As match play No. 2 seed, Ly registered wins over Anna Poulin (3&2), Sofia Fuenmayor (4&2) en route to the title match with Jacinda Lee.

Lee, the match play No. 5 seed, fell behind early with bogeys on holes No. 1 and 4 to cede the early advantage to the defending champion. Ly, who never trailed in the contest, held a 2 up lead at the turn before pulling away for a 3&1 win.

Lee defeated Emily Lackershire (4&3), Hannah Lim (3&2) and Yvonne Vinceri (4&2) on her way to the final match.

Emily Song (75-74) finished as medalist for stroke play qualifying at 3-over par, two strokes better than the eventual champion Ly (76-75).

In the Boy’s Open Division, the 15th-seeded Lee and 13th-seeded Lucas Paul upended higher seeds throughout match play on their way to meeting in Friday’s title match.

It was Lee who was 2 up at the turn, winning holes Nos. 4, 7 and 9 for the early advantage. The two traded off winning holes 10 through 13, before Lee took No. 16 to claim the 3&2 victory.

Lee defeated Quinn Hefele (1up), Simon Gray, Jonathan Scott (1 up) and Cole Rueck (1 up) on his way to the final. Paul bested Arthur Venderby (1 up), Kamaljit Singh (1 up), Tanner Overby (4&3) and top-seed Sam Renner (2&1) into the final match.

Renner (71-66) was medalist on the boy’s side with a 6-under par effort on the second day leading him to the top seed in match play.

The OGA Junior Golf Major Tournament circuit continues July 12-13 with the Central Willamette Junior Championship. The two-day event is hosted the first day by Willamette Valley Country Club and the second by Arrowhead Golf Club.

Bob Norquist Oregon Junior Amateur Division Winners:

  • Boys Open 14-18 Championship Flight Bracket: Elliot Lee
  • Boys Open 14-18 1st Flight Bracket:  Trent Anderson
  • Girls Open 12-18 Championship Flight Bracket: Kyra Ly
  • Boys 14-18 Championship Flight Bracket: Nilay Naik
  • Boys 12-13 Championship Flight Bracket: Alex Yang
  • Boys 12-13 1st Flight Bracket: Quinton Bailey
  • Girls 12-18 Championship Flight Bracket: Kate Ly
Published / Last Updated On: