Three Winners Crowned at 75th OGA Tournament of Champions | Oregon Golf Association

Three Winners Crowned at 75th OGA Tournament of Champions

Nate Blauer (Beaverton, Ore.), Rosie Cook (Bend, Ore.), and Pat O’Donnell (Happy Valley, Ore.) all won divisional titles at the 75th OGA Tournament of Champions played April 13-14 at Gearhart Golf Links in Gearhart, Ore. The event was decided by Sunday's 18-hole round, as Saturday's opening round was cancelled due to rain.

Blauer, representing Rock Creek Country Club, shot a 3-under par 69 en route to the Men’s Division title. He birdied eight holes – four on the front, four on the back – on his way to a two-stroke victory.

Jay Ross (Beaverton, Ore.), Adam Harrington (Portland, Ore.), Philip Bagdade (Portland, Ore.) and Caden Cook (Springfield, Ore.) each posted 1-under par 71s and finished in a four-way tie for second place.

Cook, from Juniper Golf Club, carded a 1-under par 71 to hold off the two-time defending champion Gretchen Johnson (Portland, Ore.) by a stroke. Cook's round was highlighted by an eagle on hole No. 2, holing-it from 80-yards out on the 280-yard par 4. 

Johnson finished alone in second at even par, while Olivia Loberg (Bend, Ore.) and Samantha Miller (Portland, Ore.) tied for third after each tallied a 1-over par 73. 

O’Donnell cruised to a four-stroke victory in the Senior Men’s Division. Representing Arrowhead Golf Club, O’Donnell birdied six holes on his way to a second consecutive OGA Tournament of Champions title, having won in a playoff a year ago.

Byron Patton (Tigard, Ore.) and Jeff Doyle (Monroe, Ore.) finished four strokes back in second place, both posting even-par 72s.

Next Up:  the OGA Championships schedule continues with the 31st Oregon Mid-Amateur Championship played May 4-5 at The Reserve Vineyards and Golf Club. The deadline to register is Wednesday, April 17. 

Oregon Golf Course Superintendent's Association
Oregon Chapter PGA
First Tee of Greater Portland